WBA is Seeking Nominations for Bakery Operation of the Year

Does Your Bakery Have Bakery Operation of the Year Potential?

The Bakery Operation of the Year Award is a special award presented to one outstanding bakery operation each year.  The purpose of the award is to recognize an outstanding bakery operation annually. The first award was presented at the 2001 annual WBA banquet.

All the winners through the years are:

2016:  Augusta Bakery, Augusta, Wis.
2015:  Tamara’s the Cake Guru, Oshkosh, Wis.
2015:  Simple Simon Bakery, Appleton, Wis.
2014:  Fosdal Home Bakery, Stoughton, Wis.
2010:  Lane’s Bakery and Gift Shop, Madison, Wis.
2009:  O&H Danish Bakery, Racine, Wis.
2008:  Melody Cookies, Oak Creek, Wis.
2007:  Uncle Mike’s Bake Shoppe, De Pere & Suamico, Wis.
2005:  Scott’s Pastry Shoppe, Middleton, Wis.
2004:  Wild Flour Bakeries, Milwaukee, Wis.
2003:  Manderfield’s Home Bakeries, Appleton & Menasha, Wis.
2002:  Grebe’s Bakeries, Inc. West Allis, Wis.
2001:  Colligan’s Bakery, Plover, Wis.

Each year’s winner gets to keep the traveling trophy for a year and the winner receives a permanent plaque to display in the business, indicating the bakery operation and the year the bakery was honored.

How Does the Program Work?

Nominations for Bakery Operation of the Year are submitted to the WBA office for consideration.

Past winners of the BOY award vote for the current year’s winner. Each year the recipient is kept a surprise until the winner is announced at the WBA annual member event.

Bakery Operation of the Year Must Meet the Following Criteria:

* Contributions to the bakery’s community, non-monetary
* Contributions to the baking industry, non-monetary
* Contributions to the Wisconsin Bakers Association, non-monetary
* Something that qualifies the bakery as an outstanding business
* Must be a WBA member
* Must agree to have the award publicized in the media