WBA Board Members

WBA Board Member Spotlight: Tony Nieto

The WBA Board Member “Spotlight Series” highlights different members of the WBA Board of Directors to help you get to know them!

Tony Nieto, Neato’s Bake Shoppe

Q.  What’s your first memory of baking?

A.  My grandparents owned a bakery and I would come in at night with my mother and help her bake!

Q.  What is your favorite thing to bake?

A.  I love baking bread, there is a simplicity in ingredients and a scientific complexity in preparation.

Q.  What do you find most challenging about baking?

A.  The most challenging aspect to baking is the physical toll. From long hours standing, heavy lifting, overnight shifts to restless daytime sleep.

Q.  As a baker, what sorts of trends do you see?

A.  Gluten free, classic preparations using clean high quality ingredients , and elimination of additives, preservatives, conditioners.

Q.   What’s the best/worst thing to happen since you started baking?

A.  The best thing is the opportunity to work with my family. They are crazy talented. The worst thing is all the holidays I’ve slept through.

Q.  What do you like to do when you aren’t baking?

A.  I enjoy cooking and gardening.

Q.  What might someone be surprised to learn about you?

A.  I grew up in a small village inside the arctic circle in Alaska.

Q. How did you first get involved with the WBA?

A.  My wife, Amanda, was contacted about participating in the cake competition.

Q.  What would you tell someone who is thinking about joining WBA?

A.  The WBA is a great networking resource that will be extremely valuable to their business.

Q.  What do you wish other people knew about the WBA?

A.  It will evolve to reflect the changing face of our industry.