WBA Board Members

WBA Board Member Spotlight: Ralf Tschenscher

We are very excited to introduce “The WBA Board Member Spotlight Series,” which will highlight different members of the WBA Board of Directors and help you get to know them!

RalfTschenscher

Ralf Tschensher, Lesaffre Yeast Corporation

Q. What’s your first memory of baking?

A. I was very lucky that the owner of an artisan bakery showed me how to load an traditional food fire oven with bread, in addition I was lucky enough that he gave me a fresh baked bread to take home. I always will remember the taste and flavor of the bread.

Q. What is your favorite thing to bake?

A. Artisan breads, based on my first memory.

Q. What do you find most challenging about baking?

A. Baking is a passion and art , and if you have passion for baking there are no challenges.

Q. What do you like to do when you aren’t baking?

A. I love to bike, volunteer and watch a good movie. 🙂

Q. As a baker, what sorts of trends do you see?

A. Going back to the basic, organic, clean label and non-GMO.

Q. How did you first get involved with the WBA?

A. I moved to the US three years to Milwaukee , this was work related. I attended last year’s restaurant show where I showed interest in WBA. This year. I registered with the hope to be more involved.

Q. What do you wish other people knew about the WBA?

A. I think every trades person should join two or three board meetings or events to see if they feel up to the challenge to be more involved in WBA.